Why Being a Teenager Sucks

Image

Agh, so many reasons. This is coming from a sixteen year old girls perspective. Let’s see:

  1. Insecurity: We may seem like we’re filled with swagger and confident. I mean, just look at those guys. You gotta have pluck to be okay with wearing your pants around your ankles. But alas, most us are cripplingly insecure. We’re not comfortable in our skin, and one social faux pas can give us nightmares for weeks. We worry about people passing by our lunch table and seeing how many people sit with us, or saying something wrong, seeming transparent. 
  2. High School: Seriously, this should be banned as an institution. It’s like being in prison. And if you’re a goodie two shoes like me, you actually care. Whenever I think I’m in trouble, I get this burn in my chest that feels suspiciously like acid- reflux. That damn bell shepherding us like a bunch of sheep from class to class, the blank teachers, the monotony. Grades, friends, homework, asshole math teachers…it’s like a suffocating blanket we have to battle against for four years. 
  3. Hormones: I repeat, I’m a girl. And from the social media and several guy friends, their hormones make the chart on the ecological deterioration in South Africa seem pitiful. I’m a girl and when a guy catches my eye, i have no problem unabashedly staring at his back and then being red and flustered if he talks to me. I have fantasies of a whirlwind romance, secret smiles, and love at first sight. I mean, sometimes there’s the “Geez, I’d love to jump his bones” thought, but it’s mostly wishing you had your own Cinderella story. Guys, apparently (again, second hand info), have a more…ehm….one- track mind. 
  4. Emotions: It’s like going to Six Flags. You’re up, down, and sometimes you have no idea what the heck is going on. One minute I want to fly and sing, the other your scouring for any mofo who’s stupid enough to cross you path. 
  5. Desire to Do Nothing: self- explanatory. 
  6. The Parentals: Sometimes you’re parents know what’s happening with you so accurately you gasp, sometimes they’re so clueless it’s sad. 
  7. Depression: There, I said it. Someone had to. I’d bet my hands (and I really like my hands) that almost every teenager in the tri-state area has gone through a bout of depression. It’s a strong, willful teenager that manages to pull out of it. Everyone thinks of suicidal thoughts. Having the thoughts doesn’t make you weak. Au contraire, you’re strong. You didn’t act on it. 
  8. Adult Think You’re a Criminal
  9. You Want Summer to Come so Bad You can TASTE IT
  10. Identity: Somewhere along our sophomore year (at least for me), we generally realize we have no freaking clue who we are or who we want to be. You wanted to be a doctor, and then you take chemistry and think, “Hell nah.” You’re out of your little safety bubble, and now everything’s awash in confusion, regret and, “OH SH*T Man, that’s due today?” 

So yeah, basically, being a teenager isn’t the best years of your life. At least, I hope to God it’s not, or else I’m gonna need a lot of chocolate. 

Image
It’s ice cream, but you get the picture. Aha, pun intended.
Leave a Reply

